Rosy Cheeks
I am not even the faintest fan of winter. Not remotely. I get cold when it’s 65º.

Rosy Cheeks

But there is nothing quite like those first very cold days of winter, when it first paints its ruddy blush all over my cheeks and nose. The sun hangs low, the sky is sapphire and you come home with the slightest sting in your skin.

Apple Pie
I enjoy the baking it more than the eating it, but I enjoy the eating it quite a bit, so that should give you a good impression of how much I enjoy the baking it.

Apple Pie

Not to seem immodest, but I make the best apple pie ever made. I feel strongly about this. The key is the tart/sweet filling with an all butter crust, that is essentially pâté brisée. It is best warm with a large scoop of vanilla ice cream. I feel strongly about this, as well.

Which means if you are on a diet or are some wacky vegan type, you are shit out of luck.

Cyclamen
Cyclamen’s name does it no justice because it sounds like a birth control pill or something at the gynecologist’s office. Which it is not.

Cyclamen

The thing I love most about cyclamen, other than their delicate, orchid-like flower and that they are pretty easy to take care of, is that their petals grow backward. Like a woman’s hair or umbrella being blown back by the wind. I love that.

This American Life
National Public Radio’s This American Life is probably my favorite thing on earth. It comes above all music, movies, television, or books for me. And given that fact that three out of those four are my former careers, that says a lot. It’s like all those, at their best, combined into one. It has the ability to make me laugh til my guts hurt and then leave me a sobby, tearing mess. It is what Sunday afternoons revolve around and on more than one occasion has left me and my friends stuck in a parking lot, listening until the story ends.

This American Life

Not to mention my giant crush on Ira Glass.

Road Trips
I go on a lot of these.

Road Trips

I’ve been known to live out of the back of my car for months at a time. It is my absolute favorite way to see and experience this amazingly beautiful country. You get to watch the landscape change and transform inch by inch, from forest to desert to mountains to city to plains to ocean. You can pull over and buy jewlery from Indians or eat corndogs or get out and snap photos for a half an hour or take a wrong turn and end up somewhere completely wonderful and surprising. And, if you are me, you can give your own concert for yourself or your unfortunate passengers.

Avocado

Avocado

Enough said.

m.o.p. (modern organic products)
I’m a girl . What can I say?

m.o.p.

It’s the little things, like the perfect shampoo and conditioner, that can make a girl happy.

Hotel Lights
About five months ago, Liam threw this CD by Hotel Lights at me and said, “Here”. I listened, I liked, I forgot about it. But in the last couple months it kept popping up in my iTunes when other CD’s would end and I kept liking more.

Hotel Lights

Now I like a lot. In fact, this was my soundtrack through much of my last trip to Durango. I’m the kind of girl who likes to wear out her music and this one is getting well-worn. “The Mumbling Years” and “Love to Try” are personal favorites.

Yoga
I couldn’t really write anything to express what yoga has done for my life, so I’m not even going to try. But it goes far beyond the physical.

Yoga

I’ve been practicing for many years, now. And even after droughts and lack of practice, I am always surprised at the body’s ability to remember, like music. The steadying of the breath, the quieting of the mind, like an instrument I’ve always played.

Arturo Paper
They make the most beautiful paper, with torn, rough edges. Perfect for wedding invitations. Perfect for personal stationery, perfect for letterpressing.

Arturo paper

And their boxes make great containers for stray envelopes and cards.

