Little White Lights

Little White Lights

Predictable? Perhaps.
Seasonally cliché? Certainly.
Best thing about December? Absolutely.

Afternoon walks around the Reservoir

Afternoon walks around the Reservoir

My daily ritual often includes groups of Swallows who follow me along the trail. I swear. Just like Cinderella. Which I am totally not.

New Scarf

New Scarf

Thank you, Target, for ruling so effing much.

Five bucks says Janelle thinks this scarf is blue.

Fresh Bread from Alexandra’s
Alexandra’s is a scratch bakery in Gloucester that makes the most amazing fresh bread every day and sells out usually by noon.

Fresh Bread from Alexandra's

It is still warm when you pick it up & has the perfect ratio of crusty exterior to chewy, dense interior. And it has the added bonus of being a “whole experience” kind of product….a walk down the street to the bakery, where the friendly owners know you by name and put your warm loaf aside for you. The whole wheat loaf makes the best peanut butter & jelly sandwich you will ever, ever have.

Elliott Smith’s From a Basement on the Hill
As far as musicians go, I am a bit slow on the uptake when it comes to collecting music. The guy is always dead by the time I get with the program. Despite an affection for Elliott Smith for years, I have owned nothing until now. Liz finally placed this amazing album into my hands and I cannot cannot cannot stop listening to it. While Mr. Smith is best known for his soft, pretty songs, I have gone completely bananas over the loud, dirty, dissonant guitar songs like “Strung Out Again”, “Shooting Star” and “A Passing Feeling”. And “Pretty (Ugly Before)”. And the last track. OK, all of them.

Elliott Smith's From a Basement on the Hill

These are not happy songs for happy people, but they make me very happy with their utter perfection.

Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1
Janelle I’ll see your Burt’s Bees and raise you one Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1.

Kiehl's Lip Balm #1

Silky smooth & grossly overpriced, sold by retail staff wearing white lab coats. It’s got to be better.

Dogfight

Dogfight

I think it’s pretty safe to say this is the best movie ever made. Nobody ever agrees with me, but they are wrong. Lili Taylor is phenomenal in it and River Phoenix is like you’ve not seen him before. It is tender and funny and sweet and simple. It is one of my absolute favorites of all time.

Just go rent it and when you get to the music box scene, you’ll know why it is the best movie ever made.

Bangs

Bangs

They instantly make me look like I’m 14 and help out with forehead anxiety. And I’ve finally “learned” to cut them myself. While not technically superior, at least I don’t have to drop $50 every time I need them trimmed. Those bitches grow back too damn fast.

Trader Joe’s Candy Candy Joe-Joe’s
According to Trader Joe’s, they cannot keep these on the shelves. It is because I have single-handedly bought them all. Do I need to describe what these are or does the photo say enough? Your standard oreo filled with crushed candy canes and a considerable amount of crack. Obviously.

Trader Joe's Candy Cane Joe-Joe's

So much for that giving-up-sugar thing.

The low light & long shadows of winter

The low light & long shadows of winter

Also, how effing blue the ocean is in December.

It’s like perpetual late-afternoon-sun this time of year in New England. That also means that it’s completely dark at 4:30 and you are 100% blind when driving in any direction remotely pointing west, but the payoff is in the colors and how you don’t need to tweak anything ever in photoshop. Ever. Seriously.

